Charter Commission

Bloomington's Home Rule Charter was adopted in November 1960. The Bloomington Charter Commission studies issues and makes recommendations on proposed changes to the City Home Rule Charter which outlines municipal governance.

Meeting information

The Charter Commission's annual meeting is held on the first Thursday in May, 7 p.m., at Bloomington Civic Plaza, 1800 West Old Shakopee Road.

Staff liaison

The Bloomington Charter Commission's staff liaison is Denise Christenson, recording secretary.


The fifteen-member commission is appointed by the Hennepin County's chief judge.

Charter Commission Members

Name Position End Date of Term
Rod Axtell Commissioner March 31, 2024
Jack Baloga Commissioner March 1, 2023
Ronald Barnes Commissioner January 1, 2023
James Goodermont Commissioner February 28, 2024
Cathy Gustafson Commissioner March 1, 2023
Branna Lindell Commissioner March 1, 2023
Thomas Nelson Commissioner March 1, 2023
Grant Petersen Commissioner February 28, 2024
John Stanley Commissioner March 1, 2023
John (Jay) Taylor Commissioner March 1, 2023
Cary Weatherby Vice Chair February 8, 2024
Roger Willette Commissioner March 1, 2023
Steve Peterson Commissioner April 30, 2022