Police records requests
How can I get a background check done on myself?
Bloomington Police can do a local record check (Bloomington Police records only) and provide you with a written document containing the results of the search. Cost is $10 and the document is certified.
If you need a FULL criminal background check, you will need to contact the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA): 1430 Maryland Ave E, St. Paul MN 55106; PH: 651-793-2400; BCA website.
How can I look up an accident record?
Accident record reports are created weekly on Thursdays. They list all crashes the Bloomington Police responded to in the week prior (Thursday - Wednesday).
Column one, “Master Incident Number,” has the incident number. For most crashes, this is the only record of the accident.
Column two has the “Case Number.” If a case number is listed, a police report was done. If an police report exits, you may request a copy by contacting the Police Department (see next section, below). If there is no case number listed, there is no report to request.
If a police report was done and you are listed as a driver, or listed as the owner of a parked car, a copy of the report will be mailed to you within 5 days.
How can I obtain a copy of a police report?
To obtain a copy of a police report, fill out a Request for Access to Classified Government Data. You may:
- Email the request form to email@example.com
- Fax it to 952-563-4936
- Or mail it to
Bloomington Police Records
1800 West Old Shakopee Rd
Bloomington MN 55431
Once the request form is received, it will take 7 to 10 days to process if you are a subject of the data request. If you are not a subject of the data request it may take longer. The report must be releasable under Minnesota Data Practices Laws. The report will be emailed if possible, or we will contact you if there is a fee according to MN State laws.
How can I obtain my Minnesota driving record?
The State of Minnesota can provide a copy of your driving record. Contact the main Division of Vehicle Services in St. Paul at 651-296-6911 for more information.
The Bloomington Motor Vehicle Office is unable to provide driving records.
I was in an accident with an injury or death or $1,000+ in damages. Where can I get a Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Report form?
If you were in a crash (accident) where someone was injured or there was more than $1,000 worth of damage to the vehicles, you will need to fill out the form.
You can pick up the form at any police department or download the Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Report form from the Department of Public Safety website. Mail the completed form to the Department of Public Safety. The address is on the back of form. See the form for instructions.