Contact Information

Contact Information

Human Rights Commission


Omar Bonderud Human Rights Award


The Omar Bonderud Human Rights Award is presented by the Human Rights Commission to an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to ensuring the rights of people in Bloomington. Omar Bonderud was the first Chairperson of the Human Rights Commission, formed in 1968.

2022 Omar Bonderud Human Rights Award recipient: Tara Owens

Tara Owens was selected for her multiple projects on human rights, specially promoting early childhood education among immigrant families, and advocating for young children experiencing disabilities.

Videos of past recipients