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A primary responsibility of the 
Hennepin County Public Works 
Department is the planning, 
construction, maintenance and 
safety control of the County road 
system. 
 
To carry out this responsibility the 
acquisition of property rights, most 
often an easement that allows for 
construction, however a total take is 
sometimes necessary.  The purpose 
of this brochure is to inform property 
owners about the acquisition 
process and their rights under 
Minnesota law. 
 
Under Minnesota law the County 
may acquire property by direct 
purchase, gift, or eminent domain 
proceedings. 
 
 

APPRAISAL 
 

When the County determines that 
part or all of your property will be 
needed for a public road project, an 
appraisal of the required acquisition 
will be made to determine the 
amount of compensation to be 
offered to you.  The amount of 
property rights required is 
determined by the project and will be 
shared with you.  You will be offered 
an opportunity to accompany the 
appraiser on an inspection of your 

property and to provide the appraiser 
with any information related to your 
property.   
 
The appraisal is based primarily on 
studies of recent sales of similar 
property in your community.  A copy 
will be provided to you at the time of 
the offer. 
 
You also are entitled to 
reimbursement for the reasonable 
costs of an appraisal; up to $1,500 
for a single or two family residential 
property or up to $5,000 for 
industrial, agricultural or commercial 
property.   
 
 

DIRECT PURCHASE 
 

Hennepin County will make a written 
offer to purchase your property. If 
the acquisition leaves you with an 
uneconomic remnant, the County will 
offer to purchase it. 
 
You will have a reasonable length of 
time to consider the County’s offer. 
 
If you accept the offer, the County 
will prepare legal documents to 
convey the required portion of your 
property to the County.  Hennepin 
County will, at its own expense, 
examine the title, furnish and record 
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all documents necessary to 
complete the acquisition. 
 
If you have a mortgage on your 
property, your lender may be named 
as a “co-payee” on the 
compensation check.  You will need 
to discuss this with your mortgage 
company.  
 
 

GIFTS OR DONATIONS 
 
You have the right to receive just 
compensation for the acquisition of 
the property being acquired.  You 
are also entitled to have an appraisal 
made of the property along with an 
offer of just compensation.  
However, you may waive your rights 
from either or both of these 
obligations.   
 
You may make a gift or donation of 
the property being acquired by the 
County. 
 
 

EMINENT DOMAIN 
 
If, after a reasonable time, the 
County and you are unable to agree 
upon a purchase price, the County 
will begin an eminent domain 
proceeding.  All parties with an 
interest in the property will receive a 
Notice of this action.  

 
A project often requires the County 
to acquire the rights of the property 
by a specific date.  In that event you 
may elect to have the amount of the 
County’s offer paid directly to you or 
deposited with the court, although in 
some circumstances the County may 
be required to deposit the funds with 
the court.  Even though a court 
procedure has begun, the County 
will continue to make every 
reasonable effort to work with you to 
negotiate a settlement.   
 
Under Minnesota law the court will 
appoint three commissioners 
experienced in real estate values.  If 
no settlement can be reached, the 
commissioners will hold a hearing to 
determine the compensation to be 
paid to you for the acquisition.  
Either party can appeal the 
commissioners’ award which may 
result in mediation, a jury or court 
trial.   
 
 

RELOCATION/POSSESSION 
 
If your home is being acquired, or 
you must move your business or 
farm operation because of a County 
acquisition, you will be given at least 
90 days advance written notice and 
a 30 day written notice of the date 
you will be required to vacate the 

property.  You also may be entitled 
to other relocation benefits.  If 
displaced from your home, a decent, 
safe and sanitary replacement 
dwelling must be available to you 
prior to displacement. 
 
You are not required to surrender 
possession of your property until: 
 
   1)  You have received the agreed 
purchase price, or 
 
   2)  The County has paid to you or 
deposited with the court, the amount 
of the County’s approved appraisal. 
 
 
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
If you desire more information 
please contact the Hennepin County 
Land Acquisition Group at 612-348-
4795 or www.hennepin.us 
 

Rev. 2012 (Transportation) 

http://www.hennepin.us/

