Child Safety Seat
Guidelines

Rear-Facing Seat Forward-Facing Seat Belt-Positioning Booster Seat
e |Infants under 20 pounds and * Over 1 year of age and e As of July 1, 2009, children under
under 1 year of age must be . Over 20 pounds age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9
in a rear-facing infant seat inches are required o be in a
child safety seat or booster.

» Boosters are for children up to
4 feet, 9 inches, typically ages 4-8.




Child Passenger Restraint Law
Minnesota Statute 169.685, subd. 5

 Children under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches tall are
required to be fastened in a child safety seat or booster seat
that meets federal safety standards.

 Safety seats must be installed and used according to the
manufacturer’s instructions:
- Child must be secured in the safety seat
- Seat must be secured to the vehicle with a seat belt or

LATCH
- Infants (under 20 pounds and under 1 year) must be in a
rear-facing safety seat

« Law applies to all motor vehicles originally equipped
with factory-installed seat belts

* Law applies to all seating positions
 Driver is responsible

 Petty misdemeanor fine for violation is $50 (may be
waitved if violator shows proof of obtaining a safety
seat within 14 days)

* Applies to both residents and non-residents of Minnesota
* Suspected non-use is a valid basis to stop a motor vehicle
Exceptions

 Children riding in emergency medical vehicles, when
medical needs make use of a restraint unreasonable

e Children riding in a motor vehicle for hire, including a
taxi, airport limousine or bus, but excluding a rented,
leased or borrowed motor vehicle

Bl ° Children riding with a peace officer on official duty,
when a restraint is not available (a seat belt must be
substituted)

 Children certified by a licensed physician as having a
medical, physical or mental disability that makes
restraint use inadvisable

+ Passengers in school buses
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