New hands-free law goes into effect August 1
In an effort to make roads safer for all by preventing distracted driving crashes, Minnesota Governor Tim Walz signed the new hands-free bill on April 12, 2019.
What’s allowed under the new law?
Minnesota’s new hands-free law allows a driver to use their cell phone to make calls, text, listen to music or podcasts and get directions—but only by voice commands or single-touch activation without holding the phone.
What’s not allowed?
Drivers may not hold their phones in their hand or use their phone at any time for video calling, video live-streaming, social media, gaming, looking at videos or photos, using non-navigation apps, reading texts, scrolling or typing on the phone.
What are the penalties?
The first ticket is $50 plus court fees and the second and later tickets are $275 plus court fees.
Can I ever hold my phone?
Yes. Handheld phone use is allowed to obtain emergency assistance, if there is a threat to life and safety, or when in an authorized emergency vehicle performing official duties.
For more information, visit blm.mn/handsfree.